You Can’t Handle The Roast!

Daily writing prompt
Which food, when you eat it, instantly transports you to childhood?

“Marshmallows… the ones you dangle over a bonfire until they turn from white, to caramel, to crunchy black… and under that charred exterior is gooey goodness”

Photo by Ivan Samkov on Pexels.com

The only food, ONLY food that brings me back to a happy memory is this…

My grandmother couldn’t do bonfires outside, she hurt a lot and they were in upstate WI, very wooded area, lots of ticks and mosquitos, etc… So she improvised.

In their cozy lake house, where I have so many fond memories even all these years later, they had a gas stove. She would get a bag of big marshmallows and I guess whatever you call them… prongs or something? Stick a marshmallow on each end and help me carefully roast them over the stovetop burner.

It became a ritual for us. Until she was gone.

I didn’t do it again until a few years ago in my own home here. I have the luxury of a gas stove. I bought some marshmallows, and held them over that blue flame as they sizzled. I was back in that lake house all over again. Not only did I burn my tongue but I haven’t made anymore since. Maybe it hurts too much.

Published by silversky87

37yrs old, avid reader and aspiring writer. I believe the fire of inspiration can take us to unknown and magical places. I’m a dreamer... Also been through some tough stuff, don’t underestimate me nor bet against me!

Leave a comment