I Juggled… and Dropped the Ball

I thought it wouldn’t be terribly difficult with adding college to my life; I mean it’s only ONE class (I work full-time so just a few at a time.) Well soon to be two come Fall semester in late August. I was wrong.

Adding a whole other thing to my routine and schedule… having to deal with homework, papers, etc… It’s been a challenge I forgot about in my long time away from high school, plus college levels you up so there is no hand holding, no coddling. If you don’t turn stuff in, they don’t care, it’s your own money you’re wasting, not theirs.

Hacks became my best friends. I learned not to procrastinate (this is sooo easy to do with big projects like research papers) and I’m still learning to not let stress infect my mind when I’m working… it really will affect the quality of whatever I am working on.

My Recommendations:

Block out time needed for your homework. Otherwise you’ll be searching for pockets of free time and it won’t get done on time nor will the quality of your assignment be up to par. A structured scheduled is key.

Try not to stress. This is a big one. Even if it feels like your world is about to cave in, you need to take 10 and namaste away the outside so you can focus. Otherwise your stress will bleed into your work and it will show, not to mention it clouds creativity as well.

Get LOTS of sleep. A well rested mind is a mind ready to take on the world. Make sure to be getting those 7-8 hours every night so you’re not running on fumes. A tired brain can’t focus on important stuff, and this can relate to everything in your life. When I am lacking the correct amount of sleep I try to not work on anything if possible (unless due dates dictate otherwise) because I know I’m not running at my best.

These are pretty basic tips, but I’d love to hear some more from any other college students out there. Lord knows I could use ALL the hacks to survive getting my degree!

Published by silversky87

36yrs old, avid reader and aspiring writer. I believe the fire of inspiration can take us to unknown and magical places. I’m a dreamer... Also been through some tough stuff, don’t underestimate me nor bet against me!

One thought on “I Juggled… and Dropped the Ball

Leave a comment